Music by Daniel Dorff

Allegro Volante for Solo Xylophone and Orchestra, or with Band or Piano (4')

A dazzling showpiece in the style of a Russian galop, with jazzy American harmonies; Movement 3 from Concerto for Solo Percussion and Orchestra.
- PREMIERE of orchestra version: Alan Gilbert conducting the Haddonfield Symphony; Dean Witten solo xylophone.
- PUBLISHED on rental by Theodore Presser Company; score available for sale.
- INSTRUMENTATION: 2(Picc)222-4331 Timp 3Perc Hp Strings 
- ALSO PUBLISHED for Xylophone with Piano (114-40750) or with Band (115-40196).
- PERFORMANCES of Piano version include Niel DaPonte xylophone, on the Oregon Symphony's Chamber Music On Tap series.
- REVIEW: "An entertaining piece, exceptional well received by the audience."
                              - Penn Sounds (Sigal), Winter 1993.
- AUDIO EXCERPT  from the premiere



Concerto for Solo Percussion and Orchestra (20')
- COMMISSIONED by the Polish Chapter of the Percussive Arts Society for the International Music Workshops in Bydgoszcz, Poland.
- PREMIERED March 18, 1995 by Haddonfield (NJ) Symphony, Dean Witten, solo percussion, Alan Gilbert, conductor.
- PUBLISHED by Theodore Presser Company: Solo part alone (114-40751); Complete piano reduction alone (114-40751A); Full score (416-41193); orchestra parts on rental.
- INSTRUMENTATION: 2(Picc)222-4331 Timp 3Perc Hp Strings  
- ALSO AVAILABLE: See Allegro Volante above - Movement III is a xylophone stand-alone showpiece.
"impressive... highlighted the concert... It exploits the full range of sonorities and technical possibilities of a whole arsenal of percussion instruments... most arresting... a joyous finale... bold and extroverted but also filled with sensitive details."
        - Camden Courier-Post (Baxter), March 22, 1995.
"it is only a truly inventive and inspired composer like Mr. Dorff who is able to go one step further [than just using many percussion instruments] and create unusual sounds, textures, and combinations that work for the listener." 
        - Maestro Alan Gilbert, Music Director of the NY Philharmonic.
- EXTENDED REVIEW: complete review in Percussive Notes magazine.
-  AUDIO EXCERPTS of Dean Witten's premiere with the Haddonfield Symphony, Alan Gilbert conducting:
  from Mvt. 1
           from Mvt. 2 
om Mvt. 3

Click on the image above to
browse the complete score 
Shadows for solo Timpani (11')

- COMMISSIONED by West Chester University for timpanist Ralph Sorrentino.
- Four-movement suite for timpani alone (four drums, 23" 26" 29" 32").
- Premiere and touring performances scheduled for Fall 2017.



Three Dance Etudes for Marimba Duo or Ensemble (17-21')
- PREMIERED SIMULTANEOUSLY by Hitoshi Maeda and Brian Prechtl, Philadelphia, and by Nachiko Maekane (as solo player), Sacramento, November 8, 1985.
- PERFORMANCES include the St. Louis Symphony's On Stage Series, February 8, 1988.
- PUBLISHED by Theodore Presser Company (114-40432).
- Included on New York State's NYSSMA contest list.
"highly appealing, vigorous... coloristic, lively dances exploited the instrument's best qualities."    
        - Philadelphia Inquirer, (Kimmelman), November 11, 1985.
"in the hands of mature performers, Three Dance Etudes would be suitable for most any recital or ensemble program."
        - Percussive Notes (Holly), Fall 1987.
"in fact, I feel that they also make good solos."
        - Modern Percussionist (James Preiss), September 1987.
- YOUTUBE of Duo Anime (Mell Csicsila and Andrew Pongracz) playing Dance Etude No. 1 at Cleveland's "Happy Dog" December 2011
- AUDIO EXCERPTS (1 & 2 "badly-miked" premiere by Hitoshi Maeda & Brian Prechtl; 3 by Florence Ierardi & Andrew Reamer)
        from Dance Etude No. 1
        from Dance Etude No. 2
        from Dance Etude No. 3

Three Mysteries of Nagasaki for Violin and Percussion (13')

- PREMIERED by Terry Vermillion (perc) and Marion Judish (vn), St. Cloud, MN., Feb. 2000.
- PUBLISHED by Theodore Presser Company (114-41079).
- AUDIO EXCERPTS from the premiere:
from Mvt. 1
          from Mvt. 2
          from Mvt. 3

 Terry Vermillion's set-up for premiere


last updated 3/14/18